Posted by: theruppels | February 22, 2011

A Work of Faith

 Every week we spend time on Saturdays making “cold calls” in a “door-to-door” type evangelism. A little over a week ago, we had an exceptionally good day. God just seemed to lead us to people that he had prepared. Over the last 10 ten days I have had the opportunity to follow up on these calls. They have all gone remarkably well.

  • Heng, a 37 yr. old construction worker, has now finished two Bible studies. After the first study, his boss moved him to a different site. He called me to make sure I could find him at his new site. 
  • Roet and Panna are both construction workers in their early twenties. These two men have finished three Bible studies despite being mocked and laughed at by the other guys on the site. 
  • Viasna is a 21 year old man working at a nearby stainless steel shop. He told me not to come back, because he would come find us instead. 🙂  We made an appointment, and he didn’t show up. However, he did show up yesterday apologizing for missing our appointment. Most people that come looking for me are not looking for Christ but for English. Viasna was told in no uncertain terms that English was NOT being taught here. He still made another appointment to come back for church Wednesday night.

Initial contact was made with all four of these men in less than two hours on the street. Past experience tells me that there is very little chance any of these men will make it past the fourth lesson. The world “tells” me that there is nothing I can offer these men to compare with all of its glamour. The devil “tells” me that they belong to him, and he won’t let them go. However, the Bible tells me that the Gospel is the power unto salvation and that God’s Word is sharper than any two-edged sword. It will not return unto our Lord void, without bearing fruit. The Lord Jesus Christ “tells” me that He loves those men more than I love my own children, so much so that He gave His life for them. The Holy Spirit “tells” me that He has been working in the hearts of these men long before I met them and will continue to work in their lives when I am no where in sight.

I choose to believe and trust in the Bible, the Lord Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit. I will continue to go and follow up on these men and many others.

Will you enter this work of faith with me? Will you pray for these men as I go?


Responses

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who hears all those voices:) I like the way you put this, and I like the choice you made about which voices to heed. May God grant each of us the wisdom to listen to His Word and ignore the Devil’s discouraging whispers.


Leave a comment

Categories